2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Series Launches on MAVTV - May 19

May 08, 2018

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Series

Mark Your Calendars!

2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Series Launches on MAVTV - May 19

Corona, CA (May 9, 2018) – Defending event and series champions Eli Tomac and Zach Osborne lead a world-class field into the Red Bull Hangtown Classic on Saturday, May 19 at Sacramento, CA. This kicks off the first of 12 rounds of extreme motocross racing in the 2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Series.

Sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Series features the world’s fastest outdoor motocross racers competing astride the best factory bikes on America’s toughest tracks. The combined results of two 30-minute motos in both the 450cc and 250cc classes will determine individual champions at each track.

After two stops in California, the series moves to Colorado, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Washington state, New York and Maryland before closing at Crawfordsville, Indiana, with the Ironman National on August 25.

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Series again will be a fixture on MAVTV, NBC and NBC Sports Network with 36 hours of live coverage and more than 70 hours of Pro Motocross content via broadcast and digital platforms including Lucas Oil Racing TV (LORTV) - the first streaming TV motorsports network.

Live coverage of the opening 450cc and 250cc motos from all 12 rounds will be featured on MAVTV with expanded HD broadcast feeds to most subscribers. NBCSN will carry live second moto coverage at five events and will air both a mid-season recap show and an exclusive one-hour year-end highlight show.

TV coverage of the series will be hosted by veteran play-by-play announcer Jason Weigandt, with commentary from former series champion Grant Langston and insights provided by Will Christien, who will join the team as trackside reporter.

The series that over its 47-year history has produced such champions as Bob Hannah, Jeremy McGrath, James Stewart, Kent Howerton, Ryan Villopoto and, of course, Ricky Carmichael, winner of a record 10 consecutive titles, is poised to make household names of a few new riders in 2018, including, perhaps, a couple of pro rookies.

Eighteen-year-old Enzo Lopes of Sao Paulo, Brazil, and 16-year-old Garrett Marchbanks of Coalville, Utah, both will make their pro debuts at the Hangtown Classic.

Lopes, the 2014 Brazilian Motocross and Arena Cross champion, will ride an Autotrader/Yoshimura Suzuki in place of the injured Jimmy Decotis. Marchbanks, the 2014 AMA Youth Motocross “Racer of the Year,” will be astride a Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki.

In addition to Lopes, the international field also will include Marvin Musquin of La Reole, France, runner-up for the 450cc championship a year ago on a Red Bull KTM, and Dean Wilson of Glasgow, Scotland, who finished two spots further back on a Rockstar Energy Husqvarna.

Visit the Pro Motocross Championship LIVE show page.


2018 Schedule

May 19 Hangtown Classic Sacramento, CA
May 26 Glen Helen National San Bernardino, CA
June 2 Thunder Valley National Lakewood, CO
June 16 High Point National Mount Morris, PA
June 23 Tennessee National Blountville, TN
June 30 Southwick National Southwick, MA
July 7 Redbud National Buchanan, MI
July 21 Spring Creek National Millville, MN
July 28 Washougal National Washougal, WA
August 11 Unadilla National New Berlin, NY
August 18 Budds Creek National Mechanicsville, MD
August 25 Ironman Nationals Crawfordsville, IN